Congratulations to everyone nominated as a tech leader in Vermont! We’re thrilled to present you with the five finalists in each category – companies and individuals recognized by nominators and our judges  for building innovative ventures and products, tirelessly promoting Vermont’s strengthening tech ecosystem, and newcomers to the scene who bring fresh ideas and momentum to the state.

The Vermont Technology Alliance, BTV Ignite, and Seven Days now invite the tech community to identify the standouts in each category. Help us select the winners by casting your votes for admired and under-recognized tech all-stars in the 2017 Tech Jam Awards!

Finalists for Innovation Award

  • Benchmark Space Systems
  • Dealer Policy
  • GameTheory
  • Protean
  • MindStream

Finalists for Ambassador Award

  • Rob Hale
  • David Feinauer
  • Maureen McElaney
  • Kip Steele
  • Abbie Tykocki

Finalists for Newcomer Award

  • Jake Blend
  • Sean Kio
  • Majorwise

Finalists for Startup Award

  • AllYouCanTech VT
  • Majorwise
  • Packetized Energy
  • Protean
  • Wildfire

Voting is open now through October 18 at 11:59 p.m.

Winners will be announced at the 2017 Tech Jam Awards Ceremony at 4 p.m. Friday, October 20 in the Presentation Room at the Champlain Valley Expo. Please join us to support your favorites and to celebrate all of the nominees and finalists.

The categories include:

techjam-award-blank_720Innovation Award
The Innovation Award recognizes any product or service that demonstrates exciting thinking and market momentum. The purpose of this award is to inspire and reward excellence and shine a spotlight on Vermont as a home to innovation. Previous winners include: LORD Sensing Systems (2012), Pwnie Express (2013), Greensea Systems (2014), Logic Supply (2015), THINKMD (2016).

Ambassador Award
The Ambassador Award recognizes a business, organization or individual who leads the support, promotion and growth of Vermont’s tech economy and ecosystem. The purpose of this award is to celebrate and motivate collaboration, shining a bright light on good actors across Vermont’s technology sector. Previous winners include: Champlain College Emergent Media Center (2012), FreshTracks Capital (2013), Bradley Holt and Jason Pelletier (2014), Michael Metz (2015), VCET (2016).

Newcomer Award 
Given to an energetic and exciting new entrant into Vermont’s technology scene over the last 24 months, this award demonstrates Vermont’s “pull” as a technology hub and recognizes new talent that calls Vermont home. Last year’s winner was Sara Simon.

Startup Award 
The Startup Award recognizes a tech-based business or individual business entrepreneur that started in Vermont during the past 24 months, and demonstrates exceptional creativity, ambition, organization and market potential. It’s purpose is to recognize and celebrate Vermont’s homegrown entrepreneurial spirit. Last year’s winner was THINKMD.